Skip to content

Tycoonism ” If you judge people, you have no time to love them.”

April 3, 2009

How do you react when you hear gossip that someone is going through a problem? Be Honest!! Do you assume the worst about that person? Do you smugly say to yourself “I’d never do something like that”? Do you relish repeating another’s downfall? Do you label and stereotype a person based on how they look? OR, do you withhold judgment? Do you stop to remind yourself that, even if it’s true, you don’t know all the circumstances; you don’t have all the facts; you haven’t walked in that person’s shoes? Do you reach out a helping hand to support the person, even if you don’t support the behavior? Do you make a conscious decision to keep your mouth closed, and not add to the person’s pain by gossiping or spreading rumors?

Unless you have deluded yourself that you will go through life without so much as a minor slip up, you’ll certainly have times when you need others to be understanding, forgiving, and merciful. When we gossip, rumor-monger or judge someone, very often we try to distance ourselves from them. And in that way, we feel better about our own selves – really, just relieved it wasn’t us! But how does that make the other person feel? If you are honest with yourself, how does it really make you feel that instead of helping another move beyond a mistake, you choose to turn away in judgment?

The next time you feel the urge to be judgmental, remind yourself that you will reap what you sow; if you judge, you will be judged, and very often more harshly. If you are seeking a moment of grace, grant it to someone else first. And do it willingly, with love and compassion.

We’re blessed best when, through our words and deeds, we are blessing someone else. So, the next time you hear or see someone in distress, whatever that distress may be, show Love, because that’s what we get in return and trust me, we each will need it – more than once – throughout our lives!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamela permalink
    April 3, 2009 8:27 am

    Greetings!

    This is a good one for me. I noticed as a child that I was being judged for being too nice. The judgement continued into my teens to when I thought that showing love, and having compassion was wrong. So I started trying to fit in with people that would say and do things I felt in my heart was wrong. I started getting older only to be judged now for what people thought I had going on or my looks, but still confused about how should I treat people, cause its some heartless people in this world. In my life now I could care less what anybody has to say that’s negative. I’m going to treat everyone with respect and Love. So I got back to when I was a child full of Love, not allowing the devil to keep on confusing me in my adult life with his lies. Because of my relationship with the Lord, Jesus Christ now I stick to his words that’s unchangeable. It was challenging not knowing if you should be nice or nasty with people. But when you develop a friendship with Jesus! your steps are then guided to a life full of an. abundance of LOVE!!!

    Peace Out!

    Tamela

  2. Tamela permalink
    April 3, 2009 8:34 am

    Greetings!

    This is a good one for me. I noticed as a child that I was being judged for being too nice. The judgement continued into my teens to when I thought that showing love, and having compassion was wrong. So I started trying to fit in with people that would say and do things I felt in my heart was wrong. I started getting older only to be judged now for what people thought I had going on or my looks, but still confused about how should I treat people, cause its some heartless people in this world. In my life now I could care less what anybody has to say that’s negative. I’m going to treat everyone with respect and Love. So I got back to when I was a child full of Love, not allowing the devil to keep on confusing me in my adult life with his lies. Because of my relationship with the Lord, Jesus Christ now I stick to his words that’s unchangeable. It was challenging not knowing if you should be nice or nasty with people. But when you develop a friendship with Jesus! your steps are then guided to a life full of an. abundance of LOVE!!!

    Peace Out!

    Tamela

    PS. I don’t try to fit in anymore with anything or anybody I say now if it don’t fit don’t force it just relax and let it go.

  3. April 3, 2009 11:47 pm

    Such great truth, saying negatives words are more degrading to speaker than they are to the person that id the topic of conversation. They are not uplifting to anyone. Mr Tycoon continue your quest for edification. As Zig Zizlar says “See you at the Top”

  4. April 4, 2009 10:05 pm

    Now you know you hit the nail on the head with this one. Shut my mouth, bend them knees, and ask for forgiveness. We still have a lot to learn. Thank God for our teachers.

Leave a Reply

