Skip to content

Tycoonism “I am careful not to confuse excellence with perfection. Excellence, I can reach for; perfection is God’s business.”

July 8, 2009

If you all notice, this weeks, Tycoonism is focused on “excellence.” How we strive for perfection which most of the times, lead us to failure and to learn to be able to stand up when we fail and how to move on again. One of the gifts that I have learned from sports is the ability to strive for excellence and not perfection. Excellence is attainable and desirable and yes, measurable unlike perfection which is more or less a fickle of one’s imagination. Perhaps the only being who can achieve perfection is the only perfect Being– God, Allah

I often think about how I live life. Am I doing things that I know and understand, or am I just guessing? Sometimes living for God is like that and we don’t have all the answers. I can get confusing and frustrating sometimes, even for a Bible school student. One thing that I always think about in depth is the manner in which I do things. I always have the answer to that one.

I do things in my life with a measure of excellence. Excellence is simply doing the best possible job with what is available. Excellence is what your parents asked for when they told you “just do your best”. I often ponder the difference between excellence and perfectionism.

Perfection a way of doing things that is absolutely correct and achieves the desired result every time. Perfection is the lack of failure. I am not perfect, nor do I do everything to perfection. I do, however, try to do everything with excellence.

Here is a piece I found in the internet:

Nine Ways Excellence Out Performs Perfection:

Excellence is willing to be wrong.

Perfection is being right.

Excellence is risk.

Perfection is fear.

Excellence is powerful.

Perfection is anger and frustration.

Excellence is spontaneous.

Perfection is control.

Excellence is accepting.

Perfection is judgment.

Excellence is giving.

Perfection is taking.

Excellence is confidence.

Perfection is doubt

Excellence is flowing.

Perfection is pressure.

Excellence is journey.

Perfection is destination.

Perfection is not a goal, it is a fantasy. Perfection can never be reached. Perfection is not part of our human world. Excellence, however, is both attainable and desirable. A very healthy goal for each of us to pursue. Excellence knows that nobody is perfect, but if we try our best, than perfection is attainable. I strive for perfection because I take pride in my work and in my life. When I fail, however, I do not let that get me down, but rather I am encouraged to know that I gave it everything that I had. I get up, dust myself off, and try it again.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

