Skip to content

Tycoonism “Faith consists in believing when it is beyond the power of reason to believe.”

October 8, 2009

I recently purchased the new version of the timeless classic, Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill (1937). Through the years, the original text had been edited to make it more contemporary. But current wisdom says the original message stands the test of time, so the version I read is the original manuscript fully restored, annotated, indexed and revised by Ross Cornwell. When I first read this book, it profoundly changed my life. That first reading took place more than 20 years ago, and I have reread the book many times since. And through the years, as I study more and more information about success and the power of the mind, I am pleasantly surprised to discover that the principles revealed in Napoleon Hill’s work are present in almost every piece of self-help material I come across.

Every time I read Hill’s book I gain new insights and wisdom that I did not pick up in previous readings. Take, for instance, the chapter on faith. Faith has been a very strong tool responsible for my success, and yet this time around I noticed a passage in Chapter 2 that I had never really paid much attention to.

This particular passage is so powerful that the author asks you to read it not once, not twice, but four times—even reading it aloud until you “hear” it.

FAITH is the ‘eternal elixir” which gives life, power and action to the impulse of thought!

FAITH is the starting point of all accumulation of riches!

FAITH is the basis of all ‘miracles.’

FAITH is the only known antidote for FAILURE.

FAITH is the element; the “chemical” which when mixed with prayer gives one direct communication with infinite intelligence.

FAITH is the element which transforms the ordinary ‘vibration of thought,’ created by the finite human mind, into its spiritual equivalent.

FAITH is the only agency through which the cosmic force of infinite intelligence can be harnessed and used by humanity.”

I don’t know about you, but the ability to harness infinite intelligence sounds like a pretty powerful tool to me.

Another profound quote from the book—a quote that changed my life— says,

“Whatever the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve.”

I use to conceive all kinds of ideas but had a great deal of difficulty with believing. Consequently, I was not achieving all that I desired. In short, I lacked the faith.

This brings me to the part I never really noticed in chapter 2 about FAITH. Hill explains that, the principle of autosuggestion (self suggestion of thoughts through the conscious mind to influence the subconscious mind):“FAITH is a state of mind, which may be induced or created, by affirmations or repeated instructions to the subconscious mind, through the principle of autosuggestion”. In other words, if you repeat desired ideas or suggestions to yourself, you convince your subconscious mind that you believe it is true.

Because you have faith that it is going to happen those thoughts become things in your experience. The subconscious mind, in which all thought impulses are combined and made ready for translation to physical reality, makes no distinction between negative or positive thoughts. It just delivers (vibrationally) whatever you think about most. So I’ve learned to use autosuggestion to consciously install thoughts about what I want to attract in my life—including the faith I need to succeed.Our thoughts are vibrations of energy transferred through some mysterious current.

We are constantly attracting those thoughts (vibrations) that harmonize with the thoughts that dominate our mind. The subconscious, through repetition and emotion, will translate into reality your thoughts driven by fear just as readily as it will translate your thoughts driven by courage. It’s not that if you worry endlessly about losing your job you will necessarily lose your job. But you will manifest an event or circumstance that vibrationally feels the same as if you lost your job.

So, if you are filling your mind with fear, doubt and disbelief, the Law of Autosuggestion will deliver circumstances and events filled with fear, doubt and disbelief to you. If you fill your mind with positive, courageous and expectant thoughts, it will deliver circumstances and events filled with positive, courageous and expectant results.

These days, we hear about Law of Attraction as if it’s a new concept. But there it is, all spelled out in a book written over 75 years ago. Hill goes on to talk about how Mahatma Gandhi was one of the most powerful examples of faith in action. He inspired two hundred million people to move in unison through the influence of faith. Abraham Lincoln was another.

You must first be able to sell yourself on your own ideas before you can ever sell anyone else on the same ideas. You can learn to strengthen your faith by using autosuggestion to influence your thoughts. Remember, faith is indispensable for success. Resolve to put out of your mind those negative thoughts that will compromise your faith.

Exercise and ask yourself, “Which beliefs do I need to have more faith in before I can reach my goal?”  Once you identify the beliefs write down affirmations you can input into your subconscious to increase your faith.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dyandra permalink
    October 9, 2009 7:52 am

    This is so true! Our mind controls us and we allow the wrong information to influence us. Most people know about faith, but few know how to use it. Just yesterday I had a one-one with one of my employees about this very same thing. I have been working @ JCPenney now for a year. The day I applied I didn’t want to do it but needed a steady check to support my household. I know I was lead by the spirit and on that day I got the job. Worked commission area (shoes, my favorite!). Didn’t want to be there but God showed me he had a plan. After the holiday season, hours were cut and I was afraid because I needed the hours and money. With this extra time, I was able to attend the Millionaire Summit and was able to hook up with The Wealth Factory. Things have changed since then because you taught us how to think positive, and to believe in our success. You also told us to get rid of negative people in our lives and to read more positive things. Belive it or not, my Bishop (Paul S Morton) preach and teach this a lot. Anyway, God has blessed me with a management position with JCP (fine jewelry). New in the position for a month and was informed by my Dist. Manager that my store could loose commission status at the end of the year if sales don’t improve.Just had our first event, Billion Dollar Diamond Sale. I would come in daily with a smile on my face and full of energy! Why, because I know my God wouldn’t put me over something to fail! I have faith that He has my back. The first week didn’t look promising. We did 5600 in sales, but had 5500 in returns. My top producer ia always negative. I didn’t let that defeat me, I pushed my associates to stay positive and to go after the sales. Three days before the event ended we still needed 13,000. My negative assoc told me that I had gotten too cockie about beating the sales goal, that the never meet goal because that last week sales are always slow, and that he was satisfied with what he had done in sales. This is a christian man believing in faith. I didn’t let that negativity stop me. My faith is not in man! We ended up 2nd in the dist with a 5% gain over goal, the only store in GA, this assoc ranked 3rd in sales in the dist(if he continues he will be on the next tier level to make more money next year, which he didn’t want to accomplish due to laziness), my other top producer ranked 8th in the dist, we ranked 1st in our dist for repair serv. Yes I had a sit down with this individual to confess my faith and to let him know what faith is really about and what level of faith he as a christian should be on! Yes I still do real estate, and will soon go after my broker’s license. I love what I do, I love interacting with people, and I love helping them to achieve the next success level. My faith is real! I got it and understand it.

  2. Dyandra permalink
    October 9, 2009 8:54 am

    First of all, just want to thank you for your daily words of encouragement! I don’t say much, but on this topic, I can give you an ear full! It is so true, our mind control us and we allow the wrong information and the wrong people to have a negative influence on us. Most, not all, have a religious foundation and have heard the phrase “have faith.” To most that means to have hope and believe, but most only have hope and belief in what they can see, and what they know works through past experiences. Very few know how to us faith during unseen circumstances.

    Just yesterday, I had a one-one with one of my employees about this very same topic. I have been working at JCPenney for a year now. The day I applied for a job there, I didn’t want to, but I needed an income on a regular basis to support my household. I know I was lead by the spirit and on that day I was hired. I worked in a commission area (shoe department, my favorite!) through the holiday season. Just as I started, the store received a new Store Manager. After the holiday season, hours were cut and I didn’t need for this to happen. Still trusting in my faith, I used my time wisely and attended the Millionaire Summit in January and was able to hook up with The Wealth Factory! Things have changed since then because you taught us how to think positive, believe in our success, and to believe in our dreams. You also told us to get rid of negative people in our lives and to read more positive books. Believe it or not, my Bishop (Paul S. Morton) has preached and taught on this same subject. That very same month, I hooked up with Coach Janese and she brought a few things to light and told me it was ok to let go of all the negative things. I can say since then things have changed for the better. My store manager (who I found out later that she too is a strong christian woman) came to me one day and said she wanted to move me up to management, but didn’t know exactly when this would happen. I was finally moved to management in mid August as manager over the fine jewelry department. Going into this position, I was confronted by the district manager and he informed me that my department could loose commission status at the end of the year if we don’t bring sales up significantly! I’m new to this position, starting off in the red and our Billion Dollar Diamond event was starting. I informed the employees of our status and outlined to them what we needed to do in sales in order to keep our commission status. I would come in daily with a smile on my face, positive energy and checking the numbers. Why, because I knew my God wouldn’t put me over something for it to fail. The first week we did $5600 in sales and took in $5,500 in returns. My top producer is always negative, but I didn’t let him or the numbers discourage me from my faith and belief. I didn’t let that defeat me, I pushed my associates to strive for more sales and to keep a positive attitude. Three days before the event ended, we were $13,000 short of our goal. My negative associate told me that I had gotten too cocky about our sales and that they never reached goal because that last week was always the hardest and traffic usually slows down, and that he was satisfied with what he had done in sales. This is a christian man believing in God and faith. I didn’t let that negativity stop me because my faith is not in man. I will have you to know that the event ended and we ranked 2nd in the district with a 5% gain over goal (the only store in GA), this negative associate ranked 3rd in the district for his sales (if he continues he will be on the next tier level to make more commission next year, which he told me before he didn’t want to strive for), my other top producer ranked 8th in the district for her sales (this is out of 219 associates), and we ranked 1st in the district for our service/repairs! This is exciting! The managers had a district meeting this past Tuesday and our Regional Manager was there and he phoned my store manager to tell her how much of an impressed I left on him!

    Yes, I had a sit down with my negative associate and showed him the numbers. In this meeting, I confessed my faith and to let him know as a christian man what level he should be on. I am going to be laughing all the way to the bank, because I know that God has my back and he will never let me fail. I love what I do, I love interacting with people, and I love helping them achieve their next success level. My faith is real, I got it, and understand it!

    Yes, I am still in the real estate business. I plan to obtain my broker’s license in 2010. Just moving up to the next level.

    Thanks again to you and your wife, and for all of the encouraging words!

    Sincere looks like he is just soaking it all in! You two are doing a great job with him. His pics keeps me smiling. Tell Coach I said HI.

    Dy

  3. Dyandra permalink
    October 9, 2009 8:58 am

    First of all, just want to thank you for your daily words of encouragement! I don’t say much, but on this topic, I can give you an ear full! It is so true, our mind control us and we allow the wrong information and the wrong people to have a negative influence on us. Most, not all, have a religious foundation and have heard the phrase “have faith.” To most that means to have hope and believe, but most only have hope and belief in what they can see, and what they know works through past experiences. Very few know how to us faith during unseen circumstances.

    Just yesterday, I had a one-one with one of my employees about this very same topic. I have been working at JCPenney for a year now. The day I applied for a job there, I didn’t want to, but I needed an income on a regular basis to support my household. I know I was lead by the spirit and on that day I was hired. I worked in a commission area (shoe department, my favorite!) through the holiday season. Just as I started, the store received a new Store Manager. After the holiday season, hours were cut and I didn’t need for this to happen. Still trusting in my faith, I used my time wisely and attended the Millionaire Summit in January and was able to hook up with The Wealth Factory! Things have changed since then because you taught us how to think positive, believe in our success, and to believe in our dreams. You also told us to get rid of negative people in our lives and to read more positive books. Believe it or not, my Bishop (Paul S. Morton) has preached and taught on this same subject. That very same month, I hooked up with Coach Janese and she brought a few things to light and told me it was ok to let go of all the negative things. I can say since then things have changed for the better. My store manager (who I found out later that she too is a strong christian woman) came to me one day and said she wanted to move me up to management, but didn’t know exactly when this would happen. I was finally moved to management in mid August as manager over the fine jewelry department. Going into this position, I was confronted by the district manager and he informed me that my department could loose commission status at the end of the year if we don’t bring sales up significantly! I’m new to this position, starting off in the red and our Billion Dollar Diamond event was starting. I informed the employees of our status and outlined to them what we needed to do in sales in order to keep our commission status. I would come in daily with a smile on my face, positive energy and checking the numbers. Why, because I knew my God wouldn’t put me over something for it to fail. The first week we did $5600 in sales and took in $5,500 in returns. My top producer is always negative, but I didn’t let him or the numbers discourage me from my faith and belief. I didn’t let that defeat me, I pushed my associates to strive for more sales and to keep a positive attitude. Three days before the event ended, we were $13,000 short of our goal. My negative associate told me that I had gotten too cocky about our sales and that they never reached goal because that last week was always the hardest and traffic usually slows down, and that he was satisfied with what he had done in sales. This is a christian man believing in God and faith. I didn’t let that negativity stop me because my faith is not in man. I will have you to know that the event ended and we ranked 2nd in the district with a 5% gain over goal (the only store in GA), this negative associate ranked 3rd in the district for his sales (if he continues he will be on the next tier level to make more commission next year, which he told me before he didn’t want to strive for), my other top producer ranked 8th in the district for her sales (this is out of 219 associates), and we ranked 1st in the district for our service/repairs! This is exciting! The managers had a district meeting this past Tuesday and our Regional Manager was there and he phoned my store manager to tell her how much of an impressed I left on him!

    Yes, I had a sit down with my negative associate and showed him the numbers. In this meeting, I confessed my faith and to let him know as a christian man what level he should be on. I am going to be laughing all the way to the bank, because I know that God has my back and he will never let me fail. I love what I do, I love interacting with people, and I love helping them achieve their next success level. My faith is real, I got it, and understand it!

    Yes, I am still in the real estate business. I plan to obtain my broker’s license in 2010. Just moving up to the next level.

    Thanks again to you and your wife, and for all of the encouraging words!

    Sincere looks like he is just soaking it all in! You two are doing a great job with him. His pics keeps me smiling. Tell Coach I said HI.

    Dy

Leave a Reply

